Amazing Parents

Sometimes it\’s AMAZING. Sometimes it\’s just A MAZE.

My Missing Piece

Shell Silverstein wrote this book called The Missing Piece. It is about this little pacman-shaped guy who rolls along about his life. He likes to sing and have adventures. He even likes to stop so butterflies can land on him. He’s a good little guy and as you read you not only begin to love him, but you also begin to see yourself in his story too.

As he rolls along, he begins to feel like something in him is missing. It’s that little wedge that makes his mouth. And he begins searching for one to fill it, to complete him. It reads,

“It was missing a piece.

And it was not happy.

So it set off in search of it’s missing piece.”

This weekend I am heading off to Arizona for a mom’s retreat with my friends in the BCI network. These woman all share one experience. They have all begun a search to discover whether or not they have a missing piece and whether or not they want to fill it. I’m going to be pampered, yes. But also, it will be work. Because there are many things inside of me that I have left to integrate fully. It’s going to be liberating, yes. But it’s also going to feel at times like I can’t breathe.

“And on it went, over oceans….

through swamps and jungles,

up mountains,

and down mountains.”

A while ago my sister-in-law began to make handmade jewelry by fusing glass. She is an artist. Truly. Each one of her designs is unique and special and symbolic of something. She let me choose one and I picked one like this. I looked out across the pile of all these different shapes and designs and the second I saw this one, I knew it was the one for me. I just didn’t know what it meant to me yet. Or did I? Did I already know then that something was missing? I don’t know.

All I do know is that I’m going to take this necklace with me on my trip and I will touch it often to remind myself what I am doing there. I’m there to find out if there is something missing afterall.

“One day it came upon another piece that seemed to be just right…

Oh my, now that it was complete

it could not sing at all.

“Aha,” it thought.

“So that’s how it is!” “

April 8, 2008 - Posted by | A New Paradigm

2 Comments »

  1. omg I love your new design! I also love this post. I love Shel and I love The Missing Piece. I’m so glad you found that necklace and that it spoke to you. Love all around!

    Comment by danny | April 13, 2008 | Reply

  2. Wow! I remember hearing you say that you had a link to the necklace I made. I thought to myself that you must be blogging again. Then I went on with my day and forgot all about that until today. I’m so glad you are blogging again. You are such an amazing writer. I’m so excited for all the wonderful things you are currently working on with Beyond Consequences. I think this is such a great thing for the whole family.

    Comment by Jolie | April 24, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

