Amazing Parents

Sometimes it\’s AMAZING. Sometimes it\’s just A MAZE.

Support Group Needed – McMinnville, Oregon

I don’t know much about writing blogs or list serves, or really about accessing information on the internet. I really don’t know anything at all about computers (which my brother can attest to) or about starting a support group of any kind. And I’m slow in the ways of anything remotely sophisticated whatsoever (as everyone else I know can attest to).

I live in Sheridan. I think that pretty much sums it up.

But I do know a little something about living with a difficult child. And the pain and the fear and the hope that goes along with that journey. I have so many questions, so many ideas, and I wonder how many other people out there have them too?

That is what this blog is all about.

I would like to share my experiences with other parents in my area and hopefully be able to offer some insight and advice into this strange world of foster kids, attachment problems, and endurance. All three go hand in hand. And all three require a safety net of love, understanding, and knowledge to back you up along your way through the maze that is our lives — sometimes it’s amazing, sometimes just a maze.

For our family, it has definitely been a rocky ride. A very bumpy ride that has been full of many successes.

I hope over time that I can build that safety net for myself, for my family. A safety net, to catch us, woven together by people from within my very own community who understand what my family has gone through, what we continue to go through every day. A safety net where together we can rejoice in our successes, no matter how small, interchange information, and hold each other up with a united strength. But most imoportantly, with a hope that someday our children will heal and learn to take in our love more fully.

Please join me as we ride together through the maze of attachment disorder.

March 10, 2006 - Posted by | RAD Education

1 Comment »

  1. Hello!

    I just stumbled onto your blog! My family moved from Tigard over the River a while back–However I am still very involved with the Washington County Support Groups….

    RAD is a long journey! We have been parenting a RAD daughter for 5 1/2 years now! If you need any good Oregon Contacts I can help you… Please feel free to check out the Website that was created by three Oregon Adoptive Parents dealing with special needs and is now shared by about 500 people in the United States at

    http://adoptiveparentsnetwork.com or feel free to visit my

    Blog: http://newmemories.blogspot.com/

    Anna

    Comment by Anna | May 12, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

